Global Education

Israeli Timeline

By Denebola
Published: December 2007

1917- Balfour Declaration, a British document which promised the Jews an independent state.
1947- U.N. General Assembly Resolution 181 divides Palestine into a Jewish state and an Arab state, and an internationally controlled Jerusalem.
1948- War begins between Israel and five Arab states, war ends in stalemate; Egypt controls Gaza, Jordan controls West Bank and East Jerusalem.
1956-1957- Suez War between Israel supported by Britain and France against Egypt, along the Suez Canal.
1964- The Arab states and the Palestinians forms the Palestinian Liberation Organization.
1967- Israel pre-emptively attacks Egypt, Jordan, and Syria. Israel occupies Sinai, West Bank, Gaza, Golan Heights, and East Jerusalem.
1973- Three Arab states attack Israel, during the Jewish holiday Yom Kippur, war ends in United Nations ceasefire.
1982- Israel invades and occupies southern Lebanon, and withdraws in 1985.
1987-1993- The First Intifada
2000- Present-The Second Intifada
2006- Israel declared war on Hezbollah, in response to the kidnapping of two Israeli soldiers.

Read more

Like it? Share it!


Copyright © Denebola | The Official School Newspaper of Newton South High School | 140 Brandeis Road, Newton, MA 02459.
Site designed by Chenzhe Cao.